Leadership Directory#

This is a directory of the present and past leadership of Project Jupyter.

Executive Council#

Alphabetical by first name, names are followed by GitHub usernames.

Software Steering Council#



GitHub username

DEI Standing Committee

Martha Cryan


Jupyter Accessibility

Gabriel Fouasnon


Jupyter Foundations and Standards

Paul Ivanov


Jupyter Frontends

Jérémy Tuloup


Jupyter Kernels

Johan Mabille


Jupyter Security

Rick Wagner


Jupyter Server

Vidar Fauske


Jupyter Widgets

Sylvain Corlay


JupyterHub and Binder

Min Ragan-Kelley



Martin Renou


Trademark Subcommittee#

DEI Standing Committee#

Jupyter Community Building Working Group#

Jupyter Media Strategy Working Group#

Former Project Jupyter Leadership#

Prior to December 2022, Jupyter was led by a Benevolent Dictator for Life (BDFL) and a Steering Council.

Benevolent Dictator for Life (retired December 2022)#

Fernando Perez (@fperez) was the Benevolent Dictator for Life (BDFL). He voluntarily relinquished his role after Jupyter transitioned to a new governance model in December 2022.

Steering Council (dissolved December 2022)#

  • Afshin Darian, @afshin (2018-2022)

  • Ana Ruvalcaba, @Ruv7 (2018-2022)

  • Brian Granger, @ellisonbg (Founding member, 2014-2022)

  • Carol Willing, @willingc (2017-2022)

  • Damian Avila, @damianavila (Founding member, 2014-2022)

  • Fernando Perez, @fperez (Founding member, 2014-2022)

  • Jason Grout, @jasongrout (2015-2022)

  • Jessica Hamrick, @jhamrick (2015-2022)

  • Jonathan Frederic, @jdfreder (2016-2018)

  • Kyle Kelley, @rgbkrk (Founding member, 2014-2022)

  • M Pacer, @mpacer (2018-2022)

  • Matthias Bussonnier, @carreau (Founding member, 2014-2022)

  • Min Ragan-Kelley, @minrk (Founding member, 2014-2022)

  • Paul Ivanov, @ivanov (2016-2022)

  • Peter Parente, @parente (2016-2022)

  • Steven Silvester, @blink1073 (2016-2022)

  • Sylvain Corlay, @sylvaincorlay (2016-2022)

  • Thomas Kluyver, @takluyver (Founding member, 2014-2022)

NumFOCUS Subcommittee (dissolved December 2022)#